A Few Book Recommendations

As unusual as it might seem people still read books these days.  Not as much as I used to, though I did break down last week and order a few from Amazon.  Since I started writing my father memoirs I wanted to brush up on my knowledge of WWII history involving Hungary.  I’ve also made it a point to poke my head/nose into some forums that deal with the political atmosphere in today’s Hungary.  Trying to siphon through the endless references to historical evidence along with a buffet of name calling, foul language and racist references; had me wondering why I even bothered.  Maybe curiosity got the best of me.  The “counting game” as I refer to it, was high on the list of topics as well as the EU, political parties and one particular disturbing debate on whose country destroyed more synagogues.  A little clarification on that last one, so it’s not taken the wrong way.  They were each blaming each other’s country to compare whose was worse.

I was going to include a portion of it in this post but changed my mind today, leaving well enough alone to the idiots.

***********************************************************

Anyway, back to the books.  The first titled “People on the Move” Forced Population Movements in Europe in the Second War and Its Aftermath. -Pertti Ahonen, Gustavo Comi, Jerzy Kochanowski, Rainer Schulze, Tamas Stark, Barbara Stelzi-Marx  Each section written by the author that specialized in that field. I contacted Mr. Tamas a little less than a month ago to ask for his help in the correct spelling and name of the labor camp my father was in.  Haven’t received a response yet.

The second book is more specific to Hungary.  Called, “Hungary at War” Civilians and Soldiers in World War II -Cecil D. Elby  What I really like about this book is the Chronology, of the major events in and surrounding Hungary from 1914-1956.

Since history seems to vary depending on who you ask, and whose book you read; I thought it would be interesting (to me anyway) to compare the major events in both these books and see if certain facts, figures, etc., add up.  Even for myself maintaining an unbiased/neutral look is difficult; but if you write a fact based book, in my opinion that is exactly what you need to, in the very least strive to do.

So there you have it.  Not exactly one of my “normal” posts so to speak, but I thought it was a little better than the fun-filled day I had, cleaning out my storage closet on Sunday.

Kat-

About magyarok27

Just ask.....
This entry was posted in Magyar Historical and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Few Book Recommendations

  1. gpcox says:

    There are still plenty of us book readers out here (and I don’t mean e-books). I find Amazon a bit on the pricey side when it comes to used books. You might want to try Thriftbooks.com – I’ve had great success with them myself.

    • magyarok27 says:

      Thank you for the follow and the recommendation, I will definitely have to take a look. Normally I collect antique/rare books, which are hard to find. It’s good to know “print” is still fashionable. 🙂

Please leave a reply

