Fish Soup Szeged Style

These next series of recipes are slightly different then my other Hungarian recipes.  I found an old cook book which broke down recipes into regions in Hungary.  There is a large selection; the only problem being most I’ve never heard of.  Some are even “exotic” with the types of meats and other ingredients they use.  I am going to experiment on some, but in the meanwhile, I’ll post some.  

Halászlé - Hungarian Fish Soup in Szeged

Halászlé – Hungarian Fish Soup in Szeged (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Lets start out with some fish: 

Fish Soup Szeged Style (Ingredients for 5 people) (Southern Alfold)

  • 4.5 lb. carp
  • 1/2 lb. onion
  • 1/2 lb. green pepper
  • 3.5 oz. tomato
  • 1 oz. paprika
  • salt
  • hot cherry pepper

Preparation:  Bone carp after cleaning, pierce the meat, salt and put it aside.  Slice onion, chop green pepper and tomato.

Cooking:  Cook fish head, middle and fins for 40-50 minutes in water seasoned with salt and onion, then add tomato, green pepper, paprika and boil until tender.  Then strain and pass ingredients through a sieve, keeping all the liquid warm.  Cook slices of fish in seasoned broth; in the meantime season with cherry pepper.  Bring back to the boil, add slices of fish and cook for a further 20 minutes.  Serve with hot cherry peppers.  Enjoy-Kati

About magyarok27

Just ask.....
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Fish Soup Szeged Style

  1. Michelle says:

    This looks yummy. And it looks like the curry fish head that you can have in Singapore!

    • magyarok27 says:

      It’s really good, and spicy depending on which paprika you use. They are always having competitions in Hungary to determine which region cooks the best. 🙂

      • Michelle says:

        Have you been to SG to try the curry fish head? It is really spicy as well.

        I have not been to Hungary before and i am experiencing it thru your blog!

      • magyarok27 says:

        No I haven’t, but one of these days I will. I love all kinds of spicy food, and I do go to many Asian restaurants here. My kids think I’m crazy, I like the “atomic” version of spicy! 🙂 Thank you for following my blog btw, tomorrow I have another fish recipe scheduled…

      • Michelle says:

        OH then you will really love it here!! i find it too spicy sometimes here. no problem, have a good week ahead!!

  2. ahhh 🙂 awesome :))) i miss it sooo much 🙂

  3. Yummy! Thank you for sharing the recipe and wonderful photo! Fish is on the menu here at my home tonight, I thinks I’ll be trying your recipe, as I was in the fish doldrums!

  4. Okay! Well, I ended up just frying fish last night as I didn’t have any peppers. No reason to make without peppers. So tonight, I have peppers and am cooking right now!!! It smells so yummy, its amazing how something so simple can be so amazing….not done cooking yet, so ahead of myself!

  5. Pingback: Hungarian Fish Soup! | serendipityherbals

  6. This is a STUNNING soup!!!!!!! Thank you for sharing!!! 🙂

Please leave a reply

