The making of a movie- Pearl Harbor

Back in 2000-2001 I was living in Hawaii during the filming and premier of the Pearl Harbor movie.  Details often fade, though pictures are timeless.  Here are some of those photographs.  Kat~   🙂

About magyarok27

Just ask.....
This entry was posted in Hawaii and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The making of a movie- Pearl Harbor

  1. what a cool post! Thanks for sharing.

  2. THIS IS AN AMAZING history and an AMAZING experience to be around this film! I STILL haven’t seen this film, I want to. It is so cool that you lived there. I want to go to Hawaii someday and visit Pearl Harbor. While my Grandfather Ferenc was in Hungary, my other Grandfather Ivan enlisted in the U.S. Navy with his best friend, lying about their ages. Ivan was on the U.S.S. Vestal that was moored to the U.S.S. Arizona. He helped to disconnect the two ships. These photos mean a lot to me. I think of my Grandfather being 17 on that ship, it’s crazy! Kati, you seem to have a love of history that I have, I find that very interesting. He was on Battleship Row.
    http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.history.navy.mil%2Fphotos%2Fimages%2Fh50000%2Fh50472.jpg&imgrefurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.history.navy.mil%2Fphotos%2Fevents%2Fwwii-pac%2Fpearlhbr%2Fph-bba.htm&h=545&w=700&sz=144&tbnid=l4prALABnlzT1M%3A&tbnh=104&tbnw=133&zoom=1&usg=__w6cTo6WS-SCg5_Ajwk7YktKUWbw%3D&docid=s0I1L2XYXmu83M&hl=en&sa=X&ei=LU-gUO2cL4fgiAKO64HQDw&ved=0CGIQ9QEwDQ&dur=364

    Thanks for sharing your experience and pictures! Its good to keep alive the recent history, and all the people who are part of it, what they gave, survived through, to give us a better chance at life. It’s so important for us to remember our families. Thank you, thank you, for stirring such deepness in the blog world!!!

    • magyarok27 says:

      Wow that is something knowing your grandfather was actually there and a part of history! I am sure you are very proud of him as we all should be for the sacrifices they made for this country. In the movie they used “moth-balled” decommissioned ships. One of them was the USS whipple; it was my husbands first ship when he joined the navy. The burn scenes were very dramatic, just seeing my hubby with all the special make up was scary enough. I am sure it doesn’t compare to what your grandfather went through; I can’t imagine how horrible it was. It’s a long movie, but a good one; you would like it I bet! I tried to click on the link you included but it wouldn’t work, maybe it’s because I’m on my Ipad right now, I will try it on my regular computer! :-). And thank you, I’m glad you liked the post!

    • magyarok27 says:

      Found the site, got redirected….looking at it now!

  3. Your son was in the movie!!!!!!! I need to find this movie and rent it right away!!!

    • magyarok27 says:

      My son was supposed to be in the movie, but the scene got cut because of running length. It was when they were holding church services on the morning of the attack; instead it goes into the scene with the kids playing baseball when the zero’s fly overhead toward Pearl Harbor.

  4. Oh, amazing your son was part of this!!! U.S.S. Whipple, sounds very familiar, I love hearing of all the cross connections between the ships, your family, history, and our family. I also had an Uncle on the U.S.S. Clay, but I don’t know of all the histories of the ships, just U.S.S. Arizona and U.S.S. Vestal. I AM very proud of BOTH of my Grandfather’s, My Grandfather Ferenc survived the Nazi’s and the Soviets, and my Grandfather Ivan sacrificed many years to Pearl Harbor and the Pacific Rim fighting, just because he believed it was the right thing to do, for conscience sake. Like many of the men on these ships, he wouldn’t claim his medals after the war. He was awarded (that I know of) the Purple Heart and the Medal of Honor. He may have had more I am not aware of. He accepted them at the very end of his life (he died a few years ago) simply because the family convinced him so he could have an honorable burial. He felt, surviving the war, when so many (including his best friend) lost their lives, that he did not deserve any medals. My Grandfathers are very honorable men, and close to my heart!

    Is your Husband still in the Navy? Are you all moving around?

    • magyarok27 says:

      There are so many great stories out there, you should tell some of yours too! My husband retired from the navy about 5 years ago after serving 20 years, so now we don’t move around anymore; living in Georgia. 🙂 We travel when we can, and I usually visit my mother & relatives in Hungary every other year. 🙂 I’ve been to Canada too, but it’s been a long time.

  5. Oh wow! Oh wow! THAT is an AMAZING story! How romantic!!!! I’ve never seen one of those old ships in person, but they are all beautiful in my minds eye. What a history! NOW, that’s a STORY!!!!!!!

    Every once in awhile, usually around Memorial Day, I get stirred up, and on my Facebook page, start sharing all this stuff about my Grandfather Ivan. Maybe this year, I’ll do a blog write up so I have a way to keep what I have written and share!!!

    So you’re Navy people! I grew up an Army Brat!!! 🙂

    • magyarok27 says:

      Glad you liked the movie, thought you would! Let me know when you write that post I love to read it. Yup we are both Navy, I retired after my first 4 years, he stayed in! :-).

  6. NOO! I haven’t watched the movie yet (I’m gonna check Netflix right now and order it). I meant YOUR story of meeting your Husband on the U.S.S. Whipple. That is SOOO romantic!

Please leave a reply

